LOVE IS HUMBLE

May 6, 2015

“Love … does not boast; it is not proud.”
(I Corinthians 13:4)

Can you complete the following sentences?

You’ve got to look out for number…
– You’ve got to blow your own…
– You’ve got to beat your own…
– I’ve got to do what’s best for…
– My tastes are simple, I simply want the…
– It may be expensive, but I’m…
– Image is…

What is the common thread in these statements? Each one is about me, me, me! Each one is rooted in pride or selfishness. And pride, like envy, is one of the chief enemies of love. All our self-promotion today leads only to fragmented and unhealthy relationships. What we need is a good dose of humility. Real love is humble.

Consider the contrast between pride and love…

– Pride is self-absorbed. Love is others-focused.
– Pride puts others down & builds itself up. Love builds up other people.
– Pride has an answer for everything. Love listens to others for understanding.
– Pride never says, “I’m sorry.” Love is quick to apologize & quick to forgive.
– Pride wants to be served. Love seeks to serve other people.
– Pride is judgmental & condemning. Love is gracious & accepting.

Can you see why pride is so hurtful and damaging of relationships? Real love walks hand-in-hand with humility.  Sounds like a healthy relationship, doesn’t it?

Dear Heavenly Father,
You have shown us what is good…
To act justly, to love mercy, and to walk humbly with You.
Teach me to be humble. Teach me to be loving.
In Jesus’ name, Amen.